Hello Kitten

Started by Gopher, Apr 24 06 11:35

Previous topic - Next topic
|

Gopher

kitten wrote:
 Merci beaucoup, mon ami. Nichts zu danken, Liebchen.

A fool's paradise is better than none.

kitten

That pretty well exhausts my ability to communicate in other languages.  I'm still learning English!  How many words are in this language, anyway?
Thousands of years ago cats were worshipped.  They have not forgotten.

Gopher

Heaven only knows as more and more come into use every day.

kitten

I wasn't counting the techno-speak.  That is well beyond me.

Gopher

Me too, as also is business-speak. Oh let's go back to the mid 1800s!

kitten

With all the mod-cons, though.

Gopher

And that greatest luxury of all: toilet paper!

kitten

And good soap.  The people back then weren't much into bathing.  Which brings up gas masks!

Sportsdude

I'm having problems with the english language lately. I'm seeing its faults and the same word with 4 differnt pronounciations thing going on.  I can see why its one of the hardest languages to learn.
"We can't stop here. This is bat country."

kitten

It is an amalgamation of many languages.  Although there are clear rules of speech, there are so many exceptions that it is extremely hard for someone to learn.  And spelling can be very challenging too.  Consider the people from asia whose languages have little or no relationship to English.  Can you imagine how difficult it would be for them to learn a language completely from scratch?  I admire people who have accomplished that.

kitten

On a final note to [A href="gopher://gopher.......I"]Gopher.......I[/A] was thinking of the extreme modesty of the English in the late 1800's.  They thought that referring to legs was crude and unmannerly, so that their chairs and tables had "limbs", not "legs".  I still get a chuckle out of it.

Do enjoy your packing!  Sayonara.

Gopher