So... Whats for lunch?

Started by kits, Feb 06 06 09:57

Previous topic - Next topic
|

purelife

Oh ok.  I just want to know that I'll get paid for the whole 50 weeks of EI and not 3 months worth.  

Geesh, I'm not having a baby and I'm already thinking about this.  :P

Sportsdude

Ally wrote:
Sportsdude, you live in the US?
 [/div]
[div]Yup I'm a 20 year old student from Missouri. Although this year I'm deterimined to go to school somewhere in the Pacific Northwest. Eventually want to live in Vancouver.

"We can't stop here. This is bat country."

Ally

Benefits are paid out like this.

600 hrs of work in the previous year qualifies you for benefits.

You get UP to a maximum amount of $400 per week.

Someone who only earns 15K per year may only get $150 a week.

However once you hit the income mark that gets you the $400 a week, any extra income doesn't matter.  So basically a teacher making 40K per year and a corporate manager making 80k per year both get $1600 per month.  
"Not everything that counts can be counted, and not everything that can be counted counts." (Sign hanging in Einstein's office at Princeton)

Lise

Yep, that's about right. Once you hit the maximum magic number, the government will not cough out any more. Sad but true.

That's why it's nice to work for a company that will support you by paying whatever the government doesn't pay like Workers Compensation.

It's a measy sum considering you have tons of diapers and formula to buy, none of which are cheap in this day and age.  
Always end the name of your child with a vowel, so that when you yell the name will carry.
Bill Cosby.

Ally

Hey purelife the smartest thing that you could do right now would be to bank your sick time(can you rollover from year to year).

Then you can take your one year off(50 wks) and then even take a few weeks of sick time.....and when the time comes....work your vacation time in there as well.