Using copyrighted material

Started by P.C., Jun 16 07 03:59

Previous topic - Next topic

P.C.

I bare my ignorance to all.  [img style="CURSOR: pointer" onclick=url(this.src); src="http://www.cheesebuerger.de/images/smilie/frech/c025.gif" border=0]

What steps do I need to take to use a copyrighted image.  I'm looking to make tags to put on some things I have made, and have chosen an image that is copyrighted.

What do I do, or am I SOL ?  
Sir Isaac Newton invented the swinging door....for the convenience of his cat.

kitten

Unless you can get permission in writing from the copyright holder, you are indeed SOL.  I think you will be better off to design a new one, P.C.  Sorry, but a lawsuit can be expensive.
Thousands of years ago cats were worshipped.  They have not forgotten.

P.C.

I understand that it's a no no.....(which is about all I understand) but I have had no experience in this........obtaining permission, and was wondering how to go about it.

kitten

Is there a way to learn the identity of the holder?  Where the person or company is based, that sort of thing?  Is it a Canadian or American company?  I think you would have to apply directly to them, stating your purpose for this name, and asking permission to use it if it doesn't conflict with what they are selling.  I've heard that some will give permission provided you give them a percentage of total sales, but I'm not too sure about that.  The best thing would be to consult a lawyer.  No matter how you look at it, it is likely to cost money.

Sportsdude

what exactly are you using it for?  
"We can't stop here. This is bat country."

P.C.

Yes....it is an illustration by Brian Froud.  He lives in England, and has no email addy.....ummmm....because he has no email.....lol

The Green Lady

[/DIV]

kitten