Move over McMansions here comes the Microhouse

Started by Sportsdude, Jul 08 06 07:38

Previous topic - Next topic

Sportsdude

Move over McMansions

When Scott McGlasson, a St. Paul, Minn., furniture designer, bought land for a vacation house on Little Pequaywan Lake, he knew he didn't want to build a large, traditional house like many of those he had seen going up in the region.  "There are a lot of people building McMansions on lakes, but I really like small, simple things. And as a designer, I'm steeped in modernism — I love things that don't have unnecessary elements to them," he says.

[TBODY] [/TBODY]
[TABLE style="WIDTH: 249px" align=left] [TBODY] [TR] [TD vAlign=bottom align=left][img height=450 src="http://static.homestore.com/Cms/NoGallery/Integ18721.microhouse2.jpg" width=249 ?]
[FONT size=1]Top to bottom: Construction and transportation of a weeHouse, and the finished product.[/FONT][/TD][/TR][/TBODY][/TABLE]He designed the home with the help of his friend Geoff Warner, principal architect at Alchemy Architects, a St. Paul firm. The 800 square-foot dwelling, which cost around $160,000, was the second of Mr. Warner's "weeHouses," multipurpose units that can be used as anything from second homes to yoga studios. Mr. Warner says that the first one he built drew such a positive response that he decided to build more of the tiny houses — since 2003, he has sold 14 additional units.