All the good names are taken

Started by TehBorken, Apr 04 06 09:30

Previous topic - Next topic

TehBorken

As a web developer, I can attest to the fact that nearly all the good names are taken. [hr style="width: 100%; height: 2px;"] [h3]What parts of the .COM space are registered?         [/h3]You've thought up a brilliant idea for a new Web 2.0, AJAX-enabled web app, or you're about to release a thus-far-unnamed killer software app. Now you just need to find the perfect domain name for it to live at (and, in true new-economy fashion, you'll base your corporate name upon whatever available domain name you find).

You pull up GoDaddy and start punching in clever names, along with their many variations, only to find that they're all seemingly taken.

"This can't be!" you cry. "Has every possibility already been registered?"

Given that there are approximately 50 million .COM domains registered, it is indeed true that the low-hanging fruit domain names are overwhelming taken, and your chances of lucking upon an unnoticed available three-letter acronym (TLA) are close to zero, and your only recourse would be to haggle with domain speculators.

This is a great roundup of how many of which sort of domain has been taken -- every combination of up to three letters in .COM is taken and there're precious few four-character .COMs remaining. Most of these domains are "parked" and unused. The most popular domain-length is 11 characters, and there are 538 63-character domains registered, including DIDYOUKNOWTHATYOUCANONLYHAVESIXTY-THREECHARACTERSINADOMAIN-NAME.com.

Also in the survey is data about how many of the names found in the US Census are taken (all the male names, all but a few of the female names and all 10,000 of the top surnames). The survey goes on and on, with data on how much of the "ILOVE_____.com" space is taken, which characters are most commonly found at the start of domain names, and so forth.