Do you believe in tipping?

Started by Lise, Feb 19 07 09:25

Previous topic - Next topic
|

TehBorken

ripper wrote:
The fact remains that we live in a society that is mostly tip oriented.

At one time we lived in a society that was segregated. That didn't mean it was right.

Mostly i say because some industries just don't get tipped. i can't figure it out.

I don't get it either, to be honest.

The real trouble with reality is that there's no background music.

Russ

Heres something that I have always pondered. Why do some industries get tipped for service, while others dont?

I will admit I worked as a gas station attendant for years. It was a full serve station, and many people tipped when you served them as long as you did a decent job. I never thought about it until I worked there.
Mercy to the Guilty is Torture to the Victims

Lise

Heck, I should get tips for cleaing everyone's teeth. It's a nasty job!!

I've never tipped at a gas station before. Do they really? I've tipped at the hair dresser even if I hate my haircut because I feel like I'm obligated to do it (as well as talk to them). Oh and tipping the taxi drivers..... meh. It's highway robbery to take a cab and then to pay them extra for taking you from point A to point B.

You know what's weird in Florida? If you buy a few items, the grocery boy takes your bags without you asking and puts them into your car then expects you to tip him. Now that I don't understand.
Always end the name of your child with a vowel, so that when you yell the name will carry.
Bill Cosby.

ripper

TehBorken wrote:

At one time we lived in a society that was segregated. That didn't mean it was right.

Your comparing apples to oranges. You have no choice in segregation. You have the right to leave a million dollar tip to absolutely nothing. It's voluntary.[BR style="FONT-STYLE: italic"][SPAN style="FONT-STYLE: italic"] [/SPAN]

P.C.