Blood for Sextuplets

Started by P.C., Jan 31 07 06:59

Previous topic - Next topic

P.C.

I'm wondering how many of you could imagine being a doctor, and having to face the dilemma of not being able to help a life because of religious beliefs.  Especially when the lives you're trying to save are reliant on someone elses decision.  What would your decision be if you were the doctor?  I'm prety certain I could not stand idly by and let a life slip away when there is some certainty I could save it.

I'm thinking all this seems rather odd.  If the couple that gave birth to these little miracles had to receive artificial aide in order to conceive these babies.....how is it then not OK to receive artificail aide to ensure they live.
Sir Isaac Newton invented the swinging door....for the convenience of his cat.

Lise

Pretty tough issues there, PC. If I was a doctor, I would do everything within my power to save the sextuplets. Even if it means stepping over the parents' belief. If it is within my means to save lives, I would do it in a heartbeat. Or fight to have it done. I couldn't just sit and not do anything especially when it comes to the lives of innocent babies.
Always end the name of your child with a vowel, so that when you yell the name will carry.
Bill Cosby.

Sportsdude

I'd have called them out as hypocrites for using meds to get pregnant in the first place and say not to have a blood transfusion?! oh the nerve.  Then again I'm not a doctor.  
"We can't stop here. This is bat country."

P.C.

Me too Lise.  I'm probably not the best person to make these kinds of calls.....but I think any religious beliefs should take a back seat to life.  Although I am not a religious person.....I still view it as if I WERE.....I would see it as a 'god slap' to over ride the godly decision of life or death.  

P.C.

I don't think it's about 'meds'.  I think it is specifically about blood.

Sportsdude